Spinach and Soft Boiled Egg Tartine

The other day I wondered what is new on the Smitten Kitchen and why wasn’t I getting the new posts in my Reader. I was before, wasn’t I? I think… So I typed in the address to go and check… Sure thing, there was a new post. And it was ideal! Not only did I have everything, well, all but 2 things, but we’ll get to that, but it’s a revisited recipe on another one I have for baked eggs with spinach and mushrooms. I have often thought of my baked egg recipe and have somehow put it off. I don’t know why, it is really easy to make…. But this one, just made it that much more easy! Gourmet lunch for one! Score!

I wanted good bread for this tartine, since Deb’s photos reminded of the absolute best in Paris (go to Du Pain et des Idées and you will see why; make a note of it, for next time & don’t lose the note!) I wanted the best I could get. So off I went to the fancier bakery in my neighbourhood. I was really clever to not have a cent on me and determined to pay in a bakery (!) with a debit card (!). Needless to say, I now have bread in the freezer for the next 3 months… Not complaining, not complaining….

Since this was lunch and I did have places to go in the afternoon, I wasn’t planning a trip to the supermarket so I had to sacrifice the cheese. Deb uses crumbled either goat or feta cheese, so if you have it, go ahead. I certainly didn’t miss it and loved the recipe just as well. Do have some good Dijon on hand for this recipe. It really gives a wonderful zing to it.

Ingredients:

1 slice of really good bread, toasted (I didn’t)

1 egg

2 tiny onions, chopped OR 1 tbsp

2 oz frozen spinach OR 3 frozen portioned sizes frozen spinach (I used)

1 tsp olive oil/pat of butter OR 1 tsp duck fat (I used)

1 tbsp heavy cream OR 2 tbsp fromage blanc (no, it didn’t curdle)

salt and pepper to taste

smooth Dijon mustard (spread as much as you fancy)

1 tbsp crumbled cheese (I didn’t use)

Preparation:

1. Bring a pot of water to boil. When boiling, gently drop the egg in the water and let it cook for five and a half minutes. Then, remove and let cool; don’t peel yet.

2. Warm the olive oil in the frying pan and sauté the onions until softened.

3. Add the chopped or thawed spinach and cook for a few minutes.

4. Lower the heat and add the cream or fromage blanc. Season.

5. Peel the egg.

before smash… oh how boring! haha

6. Spread the mustard on the bread, top with spinach mix, place the egg on top, smash with a fork and sprinkle the cheese on top.

splat!

YUMM!

One thought on “Spinach and Soft Boiled Egg Tartine

Leave a comment