Gnocchi with Brown Butter

I debated for a few days whether to post this or not. It is beyond simple. I feel as if I am patronizing posting this… That is not my intention. Upon looking at the photos again, I remembered how good it was and wanted to share it with you. Besides, I said originally at my gnocchi recipe that I will try and give you more ideas separately, so this is one of them 🙂

I was determined to use the gnocchi with brown butter, but I was not able to do them in the way I intended to. Which did sadden me, but it was very hard to resist the brown butter.

I also wanted to talk about something that I discovered here. Grated goat cheese! Yes! You think grated Mozzarella is a normal occurrence? Think again! Yes, it exists here too, but it is not widely known. Of course, when there is grated Emmental, Gouda, Gruyère and Comté, why would you need grated Mozzarella? But I would not knock off grated goat cheese! Imagine Mozzarella with the slightest goat cheese flavour! Yumm!

If you have everything on hand, this is probably the fastest and easiest lunch you can prepare. Seriously, the longest you have to wait is for the gnocchi water to boil!

Ingredients:

a handful and a half of fresh/frozen uncooked gnocchi (sweet potato gnocchi)

1 tbsp butter, unsalted

sprinkling of fresh/frozen basil and parsley

sprinkling of grated cheeses (Parmesan and Goat Cheese)

salt and pepper

Preparation:

1. Bring a large pot of salted water to boil and cook the gnocchi in the hot water, until they float on the top. Let them float around in the boiling water for 1 more minute.

2. Melt the butter in a pan on the stove top on medium heat. Swirl the pan a few times, but don’t stir. There is no need. Keep an eye on the butter. It needs to start browning. Juuuuuust start browning. You will start to smell this wonderfully buttery creamy caramelization. Don’t let it go too dark or black. Switch off the heat.

3. When the gnocchi are cooked, toss them in the pan with the butter and coat them around. Because the pan will be still hot, the gnocchi will brown on the side they fell in, so stir them around. I liked the browning 🙂 Add salt and pepper, if you’d like.

midweek gourmet lunch

4. To serve, sprinkle with the herbs and cheeses and voilà!

Leave a Reply

