Duck Fat Thyme Quinoa Biscuits

The inspiration for these came from “I have leftover duck fat, what do we do with it?”. I wanted them to be sweet/salty, something along the lines of duck fat meets maple syrup… In the end, I didn’t feel like adding the maple syrup in the dough… drizzled on top, works beautifully 🙂 Oooohhh…. since it is a biscuit, imagine it with maple butter…. Mmmm…..

I set out to make scones, ergo the sweet/salty idea. But as I was checking online for savoury scones, they still looked like biscuits. Maybe it was the way they were cut, and just made me think they have to be a biscuit. Besides, what is the difference anyway? Just the shape? I will research some other time…

I am sorry for the pattern, but I am using again The Guardian’s How To Make The Perfect…. Scone by Felicity Cloake. Her recipe was right on the money since it did use lard. I was ready to use my duck fat even if I landed on a butter only recipe, no worries there. I don’t know why I didn’t use all my duck fat and add as much butter to come to the amount required. They would’ve been flakier, that’s all….. But I followed the recipe which had half fat, half butter.

She decided on the recipe in The National Trust’s Traditional Teatime Recipes Book. She mentions she’s surprised that it calls for lard and butter, because it is something more bready and not a pastry, when lard would be called for, on occasion. It is no surprise to me since I’ve grown up on biscuits made with only lard. My mom would either coat them in powdered sugar or sandwich them with some of her homemade jam and then powder them! Delish! You can’t tell they’re made with lard! Even if I told you, you won’t hear me because you’ll be off to lala land due to the melt-in-your-mouth sweet flakiness of homemade biscuits. So I never worried that the duck fat won’t go gloriously in the biscuits.

The recipe she gives uses self-raising flour. I turned to The Smitten Kitchen, where Deb gives us how to make our own self-raising flour, because she is right: who in their right mind, next to the 10 different flours we have going around, keeps a white flour with raising agents in it?! I have never bought that one and don’t intend to, since I am capable of measuring out my leavenings and frankly, if I want to replace it for regular flour, then I am thrown off by the recipe which has the leavening agent and its quantity included. Does the self-raising flour already have enough leavening for my recipe?! If it doesn’t, how much more should I add so that I use the required amount of leavening?! (Virgo OCD)

Deb’s advice is for every cup of flour use 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt. I was debating about the salt… Felicity’s recipe doesn’t mention to add salt, but that is maybe because salt is included in the self-raising flour? When I say “debated”, they are supposed to be savoury, but in the end, it did turn out that that 1/2 tsp salt was too much. I find them a tad on the saltier side…

Since I am making things just for myself and there are so many things I’d like to try, I was making half a recipe. I don’t have measuring cups, so I go along David Lebovitz’s suggestions that 140 gr of flour is 1 cup. So far my recipes have been ok with that measurement. But, half of Felicity’s recipe would be 175 gr. Can you sense the leveaning panic and crazy math?! I decided to relax and not freak out, so I did the one cup quantity as per Deb’s suggestions, and then just added 1/8 tsp more baking powder, for good measure. No problem 🙂 [You can use all self-raising flour. In that case, it’s 175 gr flour (if you’re not cutting it with quinoa flour) & no baking powder + salt addition]

I used the leftover duck fat from this recipe. The fat was reserved in the fridge and I am happy to report it’s still going strong, so do not dare judge. As I’ve said before, I would eat yoghurt past its expiry date. I have my taste and smell and poke test. If it looks good to me, it’s fine. Besides things are so over pasteurized to the degree of being able to kill a horse. I guess you can buy duck fat or lard especially for this, but if you have some rendered from somewhere, use it up! Or use all butter, but then you are missing out on the awesome flavour the duck fat gives it….

P.S. One should also not forget that these are supposed to be biscuits not cookies and not roll them too thin…. Did I say I did that?!

Ingredients:

140 gr white flour (T65)

35 gr quinoa flour

1 1/2 tsp + 1/8 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt (I’d use 1/4 tsp next time)

1 tsp thyme (my addition; I couldn’t leave them bare!)

25 gr duck fat, softened

25 gr butter, softened

60 ml milk (I didn’t use it all, there were maybe some 15 ml leftover)

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 190C/375F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Mix together the dry ingredients in a bowl and incorporate the butter and duck fat with your fingers. Don’t overwork it, it shouldn’t melt entirely in the dough.

one hand photo taking!

3. Start adding the milk, bit by bit until you’re able to bring the dough together. Work with your hands, and even if you think you haven’t added enough milk, you probably have. If you find it easier to finish off the dough on your worksurface, do it here. That way you’ll see whether you have added enough milk.

rolling, rolling, rolling….

not this thin, ok?

4. Roll them to an 1,5 cm thickness and cut in your desired shape. (conversion says 0.59 inches)

first roll of thin rounds…

all in

5. Bake until golden brown on top. Felicity says 15-20 minutes; I baked them for 25 minutes.

Yield: 11,5 different thickness biscuits… so probably 10 even biscuits….

we all come in different shapes and sizes 🙂

the leaning tower of biscuits

En-joy! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Duck Fat Thyme Quinoa Biscuits

  1. Hi there. The current Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter is collecting links to dishes using duck or other game birds. I do hope you link this in. This is the link . It would be great if you checked out some of the other links – there are some good ones already. Cheers

Leave a Reply

