Sweet Potato Gnocchi w/ Olive Oil, Garlic, Anchovy Sauce

I decided to post the different versions of the cooked sweet potato gnocchi in different posts, because the original post was getting the size of a telenovela.

Here, I decided to make them with a sauce of fried anchovies and garlic in  olive oil. Something like the bagna cauda dressing, minus the balsamic vinegar (it was tempting to add the vinegar, believe me). Since the gnocchi recipe yields a lot, I froze them and cooked them from frozen today. I did a taste of the unfrozen ones yesterday, because I was curious as to what had I made, and I don’t know…. they tasted lighter and softer when cooked from fresh and unfrozen…. Was I supposed to parboil them and then freeze them?!?! I don’t know…. I’m thinking “out loud” as I’m writing this…. Either way, as David was saying with what he though was a failure – throw in the sauce and no one’s the wiser! hahahah

Ingredients: 

a handful and  a half of gnocchi, frozen or not

5-6 anchovies (you can use less if you find them too strong)

4 garlic cloves, minced (depending on the size of your garlic cloves you can use less maybe or to your taste. My garlic wasn’t the freshest and in that case I remove the heart of it – it may have seemed like a lot when I threw them in the oil, but definitely it wasn’t too much in the final dish)

2 tbsp olive oil

a pinch of paprika

sprinkling of chopped fresh/frozen parsley

grated parmesan/hard cheeses to taste

Preparation:

1. Bring salted water to boil and cook the gnocchi for around 5 minutes, or until they float to the top. Strain and reserve.

ingredients (check out the bag of frozen gnocchi hahaha)

2. Heat the olive oil in a pan and throw in the whole filets of anchovies and let them fry on moderate heat until they start falling apart (they spray and sprinkle everywhere so be careful with your clothes and exposed skin)

3. Once the anchovies have softened, add the garlic and stir till just before it starts browning. Stir in the dash of paprika. Turn off heat.

4. In the frying pan where the oil dressing is, throw in the gnocchi and coat with the sauce.

5. Pour them in a bowl or plate and sprinkle with the parsley and parmesan. Have more grated cheese on hand and enjoy!

perfect way to end the winter holidays!

Oh, and a nice glass of wine is always welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

