Almond Croissants

I don’t know where was it and how I read that almond croissants are actually made from day-old croissants. *mind bent* Wait, what?!?!?! Day-old??? But they taste so gooood…. Day old?!?!!?!? OLD?!?!?! It just could not be real. I know you can make an excellent bread pudding out of old croissants, but it was always a sacrilege for me to a) let a croissant go old *gasp!* and b) mush it into bread pudding, this common, unglamorous thing… Mind you, it probably becomes this sophisticated, elevated, kind of hipstery thing when you add croissants and maybe some rum… (ok this is getting weird, I just called bread pudding hipster… which in this new agey thing it might just be…)

Back to the croissants. Day old, eh? All I needed was some almond paste, simple syrup and slivered almonds. I even had maple syrup! Mmmm…. But after I had them, I forgot about the rum… darn it! All I needed were aged croissants….. I was going to ask the bakery to sell me the old ones, but it seemed petty and they probably needed them for their own almond croissants, so I decided to buy them and then keep them on the counter for 2 days. I kept them for two, because after the first day, they were still kind of soft.

I got my croissants at Paul, which is a franchise bakery all over France. It being a franchise bakery, you could so tell it is an industrial croissant. You know, made somewhere far away, frozen and then baked on the premises. I am sure they are better than some other ones and that once upon a time someone did develop a recipe for this kind of croissant too, but it sad that in the land of pastry, it is not regulated that the croissants (and in fact the viennoiserie) has to be made 1) by hand and 2) on the premises. The boulangerie segment is thus regulated and they have to I believe make their own bread. Since there was an outcry, bakeries in Paris that want to keep their reputation, post makeshift signs that they do make their own viennoiserie every day, fresh. Either way, Paul‘s croissants were going to do the trick. They had to.

When I was standing in line at the bakery, I saw that they indeed had almond croissants. I nearly burst out laughing. I don’t have a smartphone to be able to secretly snap a photo for you of what I saw. They were abysmal! They had tried to spread some almond paste on top of the croissant, which had spread around like liquid bird droppings when baked. I am sorry for the visual, but it was despicable to be paying nearly 2E for that mess! So, Paul, you should be paying me! Maybe the next location did their almond croissants a bit better, but this location, it was just unfortunate…. very much so….

You can make the almond paste and syrup specially for this, or you can save a bit from previous recipes, which is what I did. You can use either this or this almond paste recipe. Instead of the syrup, I used some of the leftover poaching liquid, which is syrup in itself.

Ingredients:

2 aged croissants (one or two days)

3-4 tsp almond paste

4 tsp syrup

~2 tbsp slivered almonds

drizzle of maple syrup

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F.

everything you’ll need (almond paste not pictured)

2. Cut the croissants in half lengthwise but not all the way through.

3. Moisten the insides by sprinkling some of the syrup.

4. Spread the almond paste on the inside of the croissant, on one side is enough. (this is where I should’ve sprinkled a drop or two of rum)

ready for baking

5. Close the croissant, and you can either sprinkle it with more syrup here or with just the maple syrup.

out of the oven and looking very pretty 🙂

6. Top with slivered almonds and bake for 15 minutes.

oh deliciousness…..

Happy Sunday breakfast! Start your day proudly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

