Feta & Thyme Soda Bread

Ah, the stress and worries of keeping a food blog alive…. I go away for 5 days and everyone’s been cooking up a storm but me!!!! Well, the last time everyone had holidays, I started the blog because I didn’t go anywhere. Now when there were holidays again, I decided to go away and use some of the time to travel. There is only so much you can live vicarously….

So, then you come home… and there is no bread…. What to do? Well you make your own! 🙂 The Feta cheese and Thyme Soda Bread by Little Loaf had been bugging me to make it and I did. The taste reminded me of the corn bread my mom would make. Maybe my mix of flours (quinoa, wholewheat & white flour) made the taste come closer to the corn bread. Which I must say right now is very hard to replicate since it is made with organically stone ground corn flour from corn grown on a a hill and rocky soil. When I came to N. America and saw the yellow corn flour I thought there was something wrong…. The corn flour I grew up with resembles whole wheat flour… and it is not yellow.

But we’re not talking about corn flour here, I digress. Funnily enough, the final product here had a yellowish tinge. hahaha maybe too much dried thyme?! Never!

I did measure everything, but I poured the flours on the scale the way it pleased me. So you can adjust the quantities of each to your liking. The only problem I had was with the baking times. She says 15-20 minutes. I took it out after 20, I tapped the bottom, sounded hollow, I cut it in half (& I had half a mind to run a knife test to see if it was baked in the middle… oh, instincts, how true you always are!), raw in the middle!!! OK, put it back in for another 15 mins. and then I think it was finally done. In the final photo at the cross section maybe you can see what was uncooked at the 20 minute mark, but it still did not hurt the taste. I want to know if when I get the baking times right whether the texture of the entire bread would be slightly different…. But it tastes like soda bread, even with that amount of quinoa flour and I quite like it. Toasted, with some good butter… and I definitely ate a quarter of it in one sitting…. I know, bad, bad me.

(speaking of eating fresh bread like mad, I asked my mother once why people in the villages, the paysants, why did they always eat a day old bread? She said, well didn’t you guys (me & my friends) just eat an entire loaf of freshly baked bread? I shut up  hahaha)

Ingredients:

100 gr quinoa flour

130 gr whole wheat flour (T110)

70 gr white flour (T65)

pinch of salt

2 tsp baking soda

100 gr feta cheese, crumbled

~ 1 tbsp dried thyme

190 – 230 ml buttermilk

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 230C/446F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Mix the dry ingredients together.

3. Crumble in the feta cheese and work it around with your fingers, like you would with cold butter for dough. Don’t make the pieces too small.

4. Start adding the buttermilk. The original recipe says 230 ml, I had roughly some 40 ml leftover. I remember the last time I was making soda bread, I poured in the entire quantity of buttermilk, so this time, I went easy. Why do I sometimes go against my better judgement, beats me!

5. When it has somehow come together, take it out of the bowl and work it a bit on a floured surface. It will accept some of that flour, so you can maybe add some buttermilk here…

oven ready

6. Place on the baking sheet, score it and sprinkle it with some flour, all this is purely for decorative reasons and bake for 20-35 minutes. It should sound hollow when you tap it on the bottom, but it should also be baked in the middle 🙂

at the 20 minute mark….

7. Enjoy this with some butter and with a glass of buttermilk. Toasted is also excellent. I keep in the freezer, out of sight, otherwise it’ll be gone in a flash!

at the 35 minute mark – done.

Since it reminded me of my mom’s cornbread, I feel like adding all the things I do in cornbread, like olives for e.g. and never ever EVER anything sweet, like sugar/honey/maple syrup/molasses/treacle and/or dried fruits! Ever! Why??? You can, I mean you can take it and make it your own, but then it won’t be this recipe….. Whether you like it or not, for some things I am a purist and that is it.

3 thoughts on “Feta & Thyme Soda Bread

    • Yes! The Little Loaf doesn’t mention how to incorporate the feta cheese, but I am pretty sure I wasn’t far from her idea! 🙂 I should’ve left the chunks bigger or maybe they just melt and meld in the dough while baking anyway… as I was saying the, flavour reminded me of my mom’s corn bread, which would have chunks of feta in it…. But yes, incredibly tasty little soda bread 🙂

Leave a Reply

