Duck Confit w/ duck fat potatoes & lentils

Probably one of my favourite things to eat is duck, and especially duck confit. I know people that would always have the lamb in a restaurant. If I see duck, that is what I am going for. I love lamb too, but if I had to choose, the duckie will win. I have to admit that I did not make this duck confit from scratch, so it feels like a big cheat posting it here, but I can’t help it. Besides, you will have to forgive me, because to make let’s say 4 duck legs, you will need a few kilos of pure duck fat. I don’t know what I’m going to do with it here! (ok, I lied, I will use it, but I am on a bit of an uncertain schedule so I can’t commit to the beautiful duck fat for such a long period of time… Sadly….)

I am lucky to have it very readily available here to buy, ready-made even in the supermarket. Now, when I mean readily available, I mean it is there to buy, but even though it’s probably cheaper than in N. America, it’s not something you’ll be buying every week to feed your family. Home-cooked meals should be cheaper, since you are making them at home and this still doesn’t come close to a restaurant price per meal, but it is one of the more expensive meals you can make for yourself. Definitely, a treat!

The duck confit is basically the duck legs that have been cooked and preserved in duck fat. That way they have a long shelf-life, but still need to be kept in the fridge. So, when you want to cook it, it takes all of 10 minutes in the oven. Once it was done, I removed the duck’s skin, but I didn’t continue frying it on the stove top to crisp up the meat. I think it was already fatty enough as it is 🙂 And delicious. And I was starving. LOL

The lentils were prepared the same way as they were for Chicken and Warm Lentils, because I really liked them that way and went well with this. Mind you, the bacon might be clashing a bit, so it’s up to you to have it or not. Maybe I won’t have it the next time. But between the lentils and the potatoes, that one duck leg feeds 2 people in my opinion! I definitely did not finish it. (note: that lentil recipe yields a lot, so make a half or even a third of that recipe if you’re making for one meal for two people)

The duck confit will yield the duck fat and that fat you will use for the duck fat potatoes. You will not need all of it, so keep that precious, precious fat 🙂

Ingredients:

220 gr duck confit

4 small/medium potatoes

2 garlic cloves, cleaned and smashed

1 1/2 tsp dried thyme

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 of lentils recipe

Preparation:

1. Peel and chop the potatoes and parboil them in a pot of boiling water for 7-8 minutes. They should start to soften, but still be firm.

the bare essentials…

2. When the potatoes are “done”, strain them.

3. Preheat the oven to 200C/~400F and place the duck confit and roast for 10 minutes.

4. Once the duck is done and has rendered the fat, remove it from the baking dish and remove all but the fat you think you will need for the potatoes. I kept maybe a tablespoon or two in the baking dish. Refrigerate the leftover fat for another use.

the confit after 10 mins. in the oven…

5. Coat the parboiled potatoes with the fat, sprinkle with the crushed garlic, some salt, pepper and the dried thyme.

6. Lower the oven to 190C/375F and bake for 15 minutes.

7. For the last 3 minutes of the baking time of the potatoes, I returned the duck leg back with the potatoes so it warms up a bit.

8. Remove from the oven and discard the skin of the duck leg.

9. Serve with some potatoes and the cooked lentils.

feast fit for royalty!

I enjoyed my feast with some lettuce dressed with a balsamic vinaigrette and some excellent Bordeaux wine. What else could I ask for?

Leave a Reply

