Quinoa Buckwheat Cookies

The reason these cookies came to be is because my mind was revving as to how  to use the leftover syrup from the Almond and Pear tart. So somewhere somehow I landed on David’s recipe for Chewy Oatmeal Cookies. His recipe has been adapted from Nick Malgieri…. and I guess mine by now is worlds apart…. therefore mine is inspired and adapted…. 🙂 I literally had everything I needed for these cookies and I wanted to start using my quinoa flour! Yay!

David used a mix of 5 céréales, a blend of rolled oats, wheat, rye, rice and barley, as I would’ve, had I not only had 1/4 cup of it left. Well, to the cabinet I go. What do we have? We have buckwheat flakes/bran and regular oat flakes/bran. Since I know the buckwheat can get rather heavy, I decided to cut it with the oats. Therefore, I think mine are not as chunky or chewy as David’s because the oats and buckwheat are finer than the rolled oats mix.

David also uses craisins instead of raisins, but he knows and I know how precious they are, so I mixed in some chopped figs, prunes and a small handfull of craisins. I wanted to add some apricots as well but I probably already exceeded the recipe’s suggested amount of 1/4 cup chopped dried fruit.

Also, how much of a sweet tooth does David have?! 1/2 cup granulated, plus 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar!!!! David!!! S’il te plaît! Was this in the original recipe or…? I found that exceedingly sweet! You’d think because I had other/more fruit, but I tasted the mix before adding the fruit and it was plenty sweet and all I HAD added was 1/4 cup granulated sugar, 1 vanilla pack (8 gr) and 1 tsp maple syrup. I think that is not even close to 1 cup of sugar! Also, I can’t find unsweetened applesauce here, so mine is really lightly sweetened. Again, I doubt it is as sweet as a full one cup of sugar!

I am trying the quinoa flour for the first time and luckily I looked at the back of the pack where it says it “mixes well with whole wheat flour to make bread and pastries, and use only 20% quinoa flour in your mix”. Ahm…. I am doing cups and now all of a sudden I have percentages?! No, we’re doing half-half, that’s too much thinking and too much math going in for simple cookies!

In the end, I can feel more of the quinoa taste than the buckwheat, (which I sometimes taste as “heavy” when I add them to my morning yoghurt), and as much as both can be an acquired taste, I like them. They sure are hearty cookies!

They are adaptable, so switch around the flours and the flakes and the fruit… play around… 🙂 They’re cookies after all. And avoid crazy math at all costs!

Ingredients:

1 cup flour (I used 1/2 cup T110 whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup quinoa flour)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons (30 gr) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 pack vanilla sugar (8 gr)
1 large egg
1/4 cup lightly sweetened applesauce (David has unsweetened)
1 teaspoon maple syrup
1 1/3 cups rolled oats (not instant)

OR

1/4 cup cinq céréales mix

1/2 cup + 1 tbsp buckwheat flakes/bran

1/2 cup oat flakes/bran
1/2 cup dark raisins (or dried cranberries)

OR

13 pitted and chopped prunes

1 large tbsp chopped figs

a small handfull of craisins

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 375F/190C and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a small bowl mix together and sift the dry ingredients.

3. In another bowl, mix the butter with the sugar and vanilla sugar, till creamy.

4. Add the egg and beat again. Add the applesauce.

5. Stir the oat/buckwheat mix, until fully incorporated.

6. Stir in the dried fruit, until fully incorporated.

everything incorporated…

7. Stir in the flour. Now, it might seem dry and it might be tough with the spatula, so I ended up mixing the “dough” with my hands. Came together nicely.

8. Make the cookies and place them on the baking sheet. My dough at least was extremely sticky, but keeping my hands wet made the shaping of the cookies a breeze!

before baking

9. Give them some space on the baking sheet, because they will grow a bit.

10. Bake for 12-13 minutes, or until just before done, when they’re still moist and soft.

hearty cookies 🙂

Yield: I’d say 16,5 because one cookie was smaller than the others in the final batch 🙂

4 thoughts on “Quinoa Buckwheat Cookies

    • Only 2 tbsp of butter per 16 cookies – I don’t need to feel too bad 🙂 Besides, what’s stopping me from adding more applesauce or a banana and eliminating the fat altogether? 🙂

Leave a Reply

