Sacristain…. presque….

I just can’t seem to get that sacristain I had with crème pâttisière out of my head. That is it. Also, my problem is that I remember food and flavour like it was yesterday. Which is a good thing, I guess. But not if it’s nagging you when you crave it :/ I’ve been checking out the pastry shops around town, and no one seems to be making it. I mean, there is a choice of a million and one pastry to make, so the shops and bakers have to make a choice what they’ll be selling. I just wish someone chose the humble sacristain…

It is a simple bâton of rolled pâte feuilleté (puff pastry), sprinkled with sugar and nuts. Now, you can have all variations you want on this. It’s pastry. Dress it the way you want. This one was with crème pâttisière and I am not sure whether it had raisins or chocolate chips, but I doubt it.

Therefore, in my usual “use all your scraps” I decided to try and make my own. You will have to forgive me that I decided to save myself 3 days of rolling and kneading and a pack of butter and I used a store bought pâte feuilleté. The scraps I used were the half of the crème pâttisière I made. I think it was still good. Tasted the same… hahha Be as disgusted as you want, but I am one of those people who are not going to throw away a yoghurt just because it’s past its use-by-date. Taste is my test.

You will see in the pictures that it will require some work to twist these babies into something resembling decency for presentation, but if there was no cream sticking on my fingers, it would have been easier. They taste great, but they don’t look the best. I will definitely lose some major Top Chef points right there. hahahaha

Ingredients:

half of yield for crème pâttisière (less than a teaspoonfull for each bâton)

cold butter puff pastry (I used the already rolled out one, that way it’s easier to cut and they’re all the same thickness; I didn’t use the entire packet)

1 egg, beaten

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 410F/210C and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Unroll the cold butter puff pastry and cut a few strips down the length of the circle (mine was a cricle, and I started off the sides, so they weren’t that long, the longer ones were a bit trickier to handle but I didn’t want to cut them in half)

3. Spoon one teaspoon on the strip and spread all over with the spoon.

4. Twist around. (I don’t know how to tell you this, you will have to manage, it was a bit of a struggle for me too; the pictures can tell… :/)

my mangled bâtons before glazing & baking

5. Glaze the exposed (uncreamed) pastry with the eggwash.

6. Bake for 15-17 minutes.

done.

*Cool and enjoy! No matter what they look like, they’re baked pastry. You can put anything on it and it’ll still taste awesome!

Leave a Reply

