Galette Aux Pommes

This one was absolutely unplanned. I had everything I needed, plus I was not going to refreeze/rerefrigerate my already open and in-use butter puff pastry, so galette aux pommes it is! I am again using something that shouldn’t and wouldn’t go to waste, i.e. the pastry that was left from the sacristain. Ergo, the rectangular instead of round shape of said galette. Does it matter? Not one bit!

I wanted to sprinkle some almonds on the bottom of the pastry, but when I opened my cabinet, I saw I had none. I seriously don’t remember what could I have used them up for… hahaha oh well… So, you can if you like, they will absorbe a bit of the juices from the fruit.

I used one apple Gala and one… I have no idea what it’s name is, but I don’t think it’s a cooking apple, because I find it too sweet. I used it because I wanted a varied taste and I didn’t want to add any sugar. Also, I ended up using one apple and a half in the end. So have 2 apples at the ready, but know you might have leftovers, for this size.

The pastry is the regular store-bought butter puff pastry rolled in a circle, ready for the pie/tart shell. It is the shape that it is in, because I used the sides of it (as it was facing me) for the sacristain. If you’re making this with the entire pastry, you might need one more apple, at the least.

Ingredients:

1 butter puff pastry sheet, size: a large rectangle

2 apples, peeled, cored, and sliced, not too thinly, not too thickly

1 egg, beaten

Optional:

sprinkling of craisins

sprinkling of sliced almonds

sprinkling of cinnamon

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 410F/210C and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Have your pastry unrolled and make two rows of apples, laying them on their sides, slighly overlapping and leaving as much space at all sides as possible (you’ll need to roll it up later)

before rolling up the sides…

3. Sprinkle with almonds and craisins, if using.

4. Collect and roll up the leftover sides at the rim and try to overhang it over the apples.

5. Glaze the exposed, flipped-up pastry with the egg wash.

ready to bake

6. Sprinkle with cinnamon, if using. (you can sprinkle with sugar too, but I didn’t think it needed sugar)

oh yumm!

7. Bake in the hot oven for 15-17 minutes.

*Cool and enjoy! No need to go to the pâtisserie when you can have this right at home for a lot less! 🙂

Leave a Reply

