Breakfast Cupcakes – 0% fat!

Did you ever think you can have a cupcake for breakfast and start your day with a guilt-free indulgence? Now you can! 🙂 With mousse-y topping and all! Frankly, they’re good any time of the day 🙂

I am learning new things and baking so much lately, that I am starting to learn how something is supposed to look like before I bake it. I think all those granola bars I did gave me the “skills” 🙂 So, before you go on judging me if this doesn’t turn out as it did for me (hey, it might fail on me next time around too, you never know…I was having a very lucky day that day) is because the ingredients are approximated. Why? I have the recipe from someone I love very much and even though she has given me her quantities, I didn’t have the entirely same ingredients as her so I diverged from the recipe so much that I don’t know if it’s the same any more. Related though 🙂 So, since I started pouring things and mixing and tasting, I lost track of things… As I have said before, all those chefs and qualified bloggers we read, have gone through the pains of doing some things once, twice, measuring to do it right, but I don’t have the time, money, and patience right now to be doing all that. One kitchen disaster at a time. hahaha

What is also interesting here is my zero fat chantilly. Chantilly is nothing but beaten créme fraiche. You can use whipping cream instead too. But crème fraiche, as whipping cream, has 30-35% fat. That is what beats it to stiffness. But you know what has 0% fat? (And I know you will hate me now. I am truly sorry. I might be sorry myself in a couple of months. And I know I have my mother’s words in the back of my head “The human is not a camel”, I AM going to stuff myself with as much fromage blanc as I can handle for as long as I have access to it, so I’ll be damned!) You guessed it! Fromage blanc! Now, there is 2% and 3% or full-fat milk fromage blanc and maybe that one would whip better, but what makes it hold its shape here are egg whites! Yup, mousse plus fromage blanc! 🙂

It’s good I didn’t blog about this till couple of days later, cause I got to experience how it behaves in the fridge. If it were just egg whites, it would’ve been fine. But it had fromage blanc mixed it and it was my first time doing it, so… I took the picture as I made it and it was too runny. I was afraid it was going to stay that way, plus I wanted a picture right then and there and wanted to eat it right then and there! But, by the next day, it had stiffen in the fridge quite nicely and would hold better on top of the muffin. Sadly, by the third day, it had released some of its water at the bottom, underneath the mousse. I just drained it. It should be fine. Therefore, don’t dress the muffins with the mousse and keep them like that. Keep it separate and spoon it over the muffin before eating. Or chill, dress, eat! I wanted to make nice cream-like cupcake shape on top, but that would’ve required messing up myself and the piping bag, and besides if it was going to end up behaving like this and I was not going to have the cupcakes right there, (well not all of them anyway) then what was the point…

Ingredients:

For muffins:

1 egg, beaten

1/2 cup wheat berries, cooked (I measured before I cooked them)

1/4 – 1/3 cup chopped dried figs

7 prunes, chopped

5 apricots, chopped

20 almonds, chopped

1 grated apple

3 tbsp flour (I did measure this!)

1 tsp baking powder

1 vanilla packet

18 gr shredded wheat (mine come in the shape of a cake, so this is 1 cake)

3 heaping tsp sugar (or to taste)

1 tbsp milk (warning: did not measure)

1/2 cup 5 cereal flakes (or oats)

zest of 1 lemon

sprinkling of cinnamon

For the “chantilly”:

2 egg whites

300 ml fromage blanc

1 vanilla packet

Optional:

some craisins for decoration, or you can add them inside the batter (I forgot :P)

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 190C and butter muffin tins or use silicone ones, which I didn’t butter.

2. Mix all the dry ingredients together, together with the apple and egg and then add the milk. Go slowly to see how much you will need.  Also, do not add all the sugar. Maybe from all that fruit it will have a different sweetness for you. The batter should be loose and sticky. Mix in lemon zest.

3. Spoon in muffin moulds and bake for 15-20 minutes, until a knife comes out clean. (they will not rise up like actual muffins, so you can fill the cups as much as you want)

4. While these are baking, whip the egg whites until when you invert the bowl, they don’t start sliding down, or worse fall on the counter. ahaha

5. Beat the fromage blanc with the vanilla sugar in another bowl. I beat for a few minutes and when I saw it was not going to rise much, I stopped. I mean, it has no fat! What was I thinking! hahah

white on white: before chilling

white on white: before chilling

6. Fold the egg whites gently in with the fromage blanc and chill for at least 1h.

7. When the muffins are cool and removed from the moulds, and the chantilly has set, spoon a bit over the muffin, place a lovely red craisin on top and enjoy!

see, they didn't grow much

see, they didn’t grow much

*You can totally have these without the chantilly! Also, feel free to adjust and add or remove some of the ingredients in the muffins. You can use popped quinoa (cereal), or puffed up rice, or cooked quinoa, or a banana, or carrots, or zucchini… should I go on and really give you all the ideas? I know you have it in you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

