Salad dressing

This salad dressing is the one good thing that came out of the kitchen disaster yesterday. I saw something on Top Chef the other day and I wanted to make it along with a salad lyonnaise. Well, all I ended up having was… well salad and a salad dressing…. I was thinking too highly of myself that I could pass the challenge on Top Chef in my first attempt…..

I will keep trying since I do want to make that challenge (darn it, if I don’t!) and I will get back to you. In the meantime, enjoy the salad. It goes very well, if you toss a few bacon lardons fried along side this. I had my salad mix of green lettuce and arugula.

Ingredients:

3 tbsp olive oil

2-3 tsp Dijon mustard, doux (sweet or mild)

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 shallot, minced

1/2 tsp chopped parsley

1/2 tsp chopped basil

lemon juice, to taste

Preparation:

1. Mix in the mustard with the oil and the shallot.

2. Add some lemon juice, salt and pepper and taste to see if you would like to have more. Go easy on the lemon juice and salt, those things you can always adjust.

3. When you are happy with the taste, add the parsley and basil. Stir again.

4. Add as much dressing to your lettuce mix as you want.

Leave a Reply

