Simple chocolate cake

Sometimes you can’t foresee how big a cake will be and have to have a Plan B. Simple chocolate cake. The recipe in the BBC Food is called brownies, but to me it’s a chocolate cake because brownies are gooey and moist, this is a regular cake, just chocolate. I am kind of disappointed that I still haven’t found a recipe for brownies, the gooey kind, like you buy in the supermarket. Sad, how we prefer those than the ones we can make… well, until we can make some ourselves…. 🙂

Again, as the previous cake, I went easy on the sugar and surprisingly I didn’t use the last 70 gr of sugar (it had 170 gr, I used 100 gr) I don’t understand why things need to be so sweet. I know it’s a matter of taste, but there’s a point of “my teeth are falling off sweet” that everyone would agree on.

It’s supposed to optionally have 55 gr of pecans, and since I didn’t have any, I added whatever 20 odd grams of sliced almonds I had. So, they’re not crunchy, but they have a surprise piece of almond occasionally. Oh well…. Also, beside the cocoa powder, the recipe adds some chopped chocolate. I liked that. This way, you get a chocolate boost, so it’s not overwhelmingly heavy. Mind you, there’s no such thing as too much chocolate, but it’s a nice simple, light cake that goes well with coffee.

I don’t know how you feel about a light coffee flavour in your chocolate cake. This recipe calls for 2 tsp instant coffee granules dissolved 2 tbsp warm water. I didn’t have instant coffee, so I just made some regular coffee and measured out 2 tbsp. If you don’t like it to have even the mildest coffee flavour, feel free to replace the 2 tbsp with another liquid, milk, or maybe rum or orange juice, whatever is your fancy. 2 tbsp is not a lot, so unless it’s something pretty strong, it won’t have an overwhelming flavour of whatever it is you add.

Ingredients:

115 gr butter, softened

100 gr sugar

1 pack vanilla sugar

2 eggs

40 gr dark chocolate chopped

20 gr sliced almonds (optional, up to 55 gr chopped nuts)

2 tbsp brewed coffee (or milk or another liquid)

1 tsp baking powder

55 gr flour

55 gr cocoa powder

Preparation:

1. Heat the oven to 350F/180C and grease a baking dish.

2. Cream the butter and sugar (and vanilla sugar) until pale and fluffy.

3. Add the eggs one at a time, and incorporating well.

4. Fold in the chocolate and nuts (if using).

5. Fold in the brewed coffee (or any other liquid).

6. Sift the baking powder, flour and cocoa and add them slowly with a spatula in the mix.

7. Spoon the mixture in the baking dish and bake for 35 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

8. Let cool and cut in squares.

Leave a Reply

