Carrot Wheatberry Granola Bars

I realized today all I had was grains. Or all I had, had grains in it. It made me wonder whether that much grain was good for you… I feel fine… I am starting to crave meat though… It’s not that I am deliberately not having it, it’s just that cooking for one, would mean I need to get an apothecary’s scale and measure my ingredients in micrograms in order to make one portion. So all I make is more than one, and it takes me a long time to finish it… (oh and the freezer’s full, forget it). To top it all of, as if I didn’t have already enough grains to play around, I decided to introduce something new – wheatberries. 🙂 Yumm!

Well to be precise what I had bought turns out to be groats of wheat. (but if you check Wikipedia, I think that wheatberries and groats sound very similar) Anywho, it says I need to soak them first. Eh? I didn’t! Ooops?! I cooked them in water, tasted along, saw when it was enough, strain. Done.

I guess wheatberry is just a fancy term. I have come across it and was wondering what it is and what it tastes like. I was excited to try them and then… wait a minute… I’ve had this my entire life! I just didn’t know what it was called in all the languages I speak. Where I come from, we’d have this sweet, pureed or not, with sugar and walnuts. Oh, and it’s eaten on name days and when someone dies… Hm….

I wanted to eat it because I feel bad eating any white rice of any kind (I like brown rice, just don’t have the 40 minute patience…), so I try to avoid it. I also try to avoid eating bread and pasta (I am having so many grains that pasta rarely comes in the picture…), but something needs to soak up those sauces and besides, you do need some carbs… Therefore, the wheatberry is a nice substitute. I love the chewiness. It makes you think you are eating something quite hearty…which you probably are, it’s that husk hahahah For e.g. I mixed it in in my quinoa salad. Amazing!

And today – I made the granola bars with wheatberries instead of quinoa! Double chewiness! Score!

I wanted to make the carrot cake flavour, (mostly because I had grated carrots that needed using hahah) but then why not, nothing wrong with carrot cake. Yah, only that I love orange so much and I added orange zest again, and now they just have carrots and taste and smell of orange… oh darn… I guess don’t put the orange zest and use more cinnamon, maybe they will taste carrot cake-like. Oh, and avoid the cream cheese frosting! Sorry.

 

Ingredients:

3/4 cup flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

dash of 4 spices mix (cinnamon, ginger, cloves, nutmeg)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 banana

1/3 cup (80 ml) applesauce (light on sugar, I can’t unsweetened here)

1 packet vanilla sugar

1/2 cup cooked wheatberries

1/2 cup oats/flakes of 5 cereals mix (wheat, oats, rice, barley, rye)

1/2 cup grated carrots

5-6 dried apricots, chopped

14 almonds, chopped

1/4 cup dried cranberries

zest of 1 orange (half is enough)

 

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 375F/190C and butter a baking dish.

2. In a food processor or using a potato masher (or a fork) mash together the banana, applesauce, and vanilla sugar.

3. In a bowl, sift together the flour, spices, salt and baking powder.

4. Pour in the wet ingredients in the dry ones and stir until incorporated.

5. Fold in the rest of the ingredients until everything is well mixed in and the fruit and nuts are dispersed all over the batter and not stuck to one place.

everything mixed in

everything mixed in

6. Spread the mixture in the pan and bake for 22 minutes on the middle rack. Do taste with a knife or a toothpick to see if it comes out clean, after some 15 minutes, because your ovens may work differently than mine.

all done!

all done!

*They are lighter, not as dense as the previous batch, probably just as chewy, and slightly less sweet, but still quite enough. As I said, I can’t find unsweetened applesauce, so if you use that, then it might taste differently for you. Besides, that is sugar, you can control it according to your taste or dietary habits.

Leave a Reply

