Curried Lentil, Rice and Carrot Veggie Burgers

Ok, remember when I made the quinoa and white bean burgers that I was talking about these other burgers, the lentil ones that I wanted to make? Well I finally did! They are from the same article in the New York Times that was talking about the veggie burgers. In my opinion, they might be just as good as a meat burger. I believe curry paste doesn’t really work (or I haven’t tried) in beef burgers (and when I really want a meat burger, then it is the traditional one). So these are a different category and wonderful in their own right.

The changes in the recipe that I made was that instead of the spice mix of turmeric, cumin seeds, curry powder and yellow mustard seeds, I used some cumin and 2 tsp of curry paste (namely, Patak’s curry paste with Coriander, Cumin and Tomato). I did not add cayenne and black pepper, because I am thinking the curry paste is already loaded with spices. But if you want, you can add their spices (i.e. ½ tsp turmeric, 2 tsp cumin seeds (toasted and ground), 1 tsp curry powder, ½ tsp yellow mustard seeds, pinch of cayenne and salt and pepper to taste).

The original recipe makes them with brown lentils (but because of my childhood trauma with brown lentils, I stayed away from them) and I used white lentils (no, it’s not the fancy baluga white lentils, if I could afford those, they won’t be going in a veggie patty, no matter how tasty it is).

The last change I did was making them with basmati rice instead of brown rice because I had no brown rice. You can though. I am thinking this works just as well since all curries are eaten traditionally with basmati rice.

Also, it requires to mix in already cooked rice and cooked lentils, and as much as I tried googling and researching how much in dry ingredients would I need so that I have an exact yield of whatever I require, I still had leftover, because I did indeed measure what I required once they were cooked, before I mixed them in. So, even if I tell you, you need half of what you require in dried so that you can then just mix it all in, you will have to do it and judge it for yourselves. Sorry.

The recipe suggests frying them on one side, then flipping them over to bake on top in the oven. Considering how fragile the other ones were, I decided to do them all in the oven so that it would involve less flipping and less breakage. Maybe frying them at least one side makes it all nice, but this way it’s healthier and involves less oil 🙂

This is in my opinion, just like the last one, a massive batch. The recipe says to make 6 patties; I have 6 large ones, 2 medium and 2 small ones.

Ingredients :

2 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, chopped

1 shallot, chopped

1 cup shredded carrots (original recipe says chopped, but I hate it when carrots stay crunchy)

~2 cups chopped mushrooms (original recipe says 6 oz but I don’t know how much that is & besides I like mushrooms…)

1 tbsp minced fresh ginger

2 tsp curry paste

1/8 tsp cumin (one knife tip)

Salt and pepper to taste

1 cup cooked basmati rice

2 ½ cups cooked white lentils

1 egg (they can be vegan, if you omit the egg, but then it’s up to you how you will make them stick together)

1 heaping tbsp chopped cilantro

Preparation :

1. Preheat the oven to 375F/190C and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Heat the oil at medium heat, and fry up the onion and the carrot for a few minutes till they soften.

3. Add the mushrooms, ginger, cumin and curry paste and stir till the mushrooms have softened up and have released their liquid and everything is nicely blended together.

before adding the rice & lentil purée - this was so yummy all on its own!

before adding the rice & lentil purée – this was so yummy all on its own!

4. Purée the lentils with the egg in a food processor.

5. Stir in the rice and the lentil purrée in the veggie mixture and stir well.

6. Taste, add salt/pepper and stir in the cilantro.

before baking

before baking

7. Form the patties, place on a baking sheet and place in the middle rack of the oven. Bake on one side for 25 minutes. Flip over, and bake for another 14.

done! yummies!

done! yummies!

*Mine did not brown on top or bottom, but if you want them to have browned sides, before flipping over, raise the rack, let them brown on one side, then flip them, lower the rack, continue baking, and in the last minute raise the rack so that the other side browns.

I must say I loved them! 🙂 They have the outside crust of my mom’s meat patties 🙂 and they taste of curry, make me happy and inspire me! What else?

Leave a Reply

