Apple Crumble

Why haven’t I thought of an apple crumble before??? Why haven’t I thought of how easy it would be to make??? Again, this is something I had over the holidays, because we all kind of wanted something lighter for dessert than the loaded Christmas desserts (think Bûche de Noël). Now, I knoooow the crumble has butter in the topping, but it is much much less than it would be in your typical dessert, and plus you are eating a lot of fruit. Fruit’s good for you! 🙂

Depending on how sweet (or not) are your apples or how you sweet you want them, you can add sugar in the apples, but it is absolutely not necessary. I added maple syrup, because I don’t know, I finally had it in my fridge and couldn’t resist it and justified using it to add flavor.

This is by far the simplest dessert (ok there are simpler ones, but they probably don’t require baking… hahaha). Chop apples, top with crumble, bake. Done.

If you want, you can enjoy this with a side of vanilla ice cream, but what I prefer is 0% fromage blanc. You can have crème fraîche too, if you want, but 0% vs 15%/30%…. it’s up to you… hahaha I have so far found fromage blanc only in France, so I really can’t replace it with anything. Just like crème fraîche – they’re unique to me. (they say you “can” make crème fraîche at home and I have, but it is not the same. Don’t be fooling yourself. Just like one French cooking lady in one old, old book once said, “Give up, you just can’t make it at home.” Love the cheekiness!) I think maybe plain, natural Greek yoghurt might do the trick…

The topping: this is my first time and I would like to will be making this again, so I got inspired by what it looked like at my friends’ and what I scouted on the LCBO’s “Food & Drink” website. I think maybe mine doesn’t look like my friends’ because 1) I used oats, and 2) I think I must’ve used less butter. So, the answer is always, BUTTER!

Ingredients:

6 medium apples, peeled and cubed

1 tbsp maple syrup (optional)

1 packet vanilla sugar

heaping 1/8 cup sugar

½ cup oats

¼ cup flour

¼ cup ground almonds

¼ cup butter

sprinkling of salt

Preparation:

1. Preheat the oven to 200C/~400F

2. Throw in the apples in your baking dish and toss them with the maple syrup (again, optional)

3. In a bowl mix in the other ingredients and using your hands incorporate the butter until the mixture looks crumbly.

4. Sprinkle this all over the apples and bake for 25-30 minutes.

before baking

before baking

*I tasted it when still hot and when cooled off. It was less sweet when cooled off. Also, you can totally have this for breakfast. I added some shredded wheat to the fromage blanc, and I had breakfast! If this doesn’t start your day well, I don’t know what will!

after...

after…

*Just a quick shout-out to my friends who made this, twice, three times (?) in the 1 week I was with them and sent me home wanting more 🙂

Leave a Reply

