Leek and Mushroom Quiche

This being the holidays, I am off for a few days to spend them with family. As always with leaving the house for a few days, the fridge needs emptying. So which one of you hadn’t put everything they had in a quiche? Some people say it needs to have three ingredients only. Eh?! Who ever heard of that?! I had mushrooms, I had eggs, I had a little bit of crème fraîche, little bit of grated cheese, milk… Definitely everything one needs for a quiche. I felt it might be a bit too boring with just mushrooms, and there weren’t that many anyway, so I decided on a leek and mushroom quiche. So I will admit to buying them just for this but it was worth it (it better have been, cause I fell from the bike on the way home and smeared my winter coat with muddy rain water, not to speak of the spectacle…)

It’s a recipe I found on Smitten Kitchen and Deb tried making Julia Child’s recipe, from crust to finish, but something happened with Julia’s crust or the lack of information she provided, so Deb gives Martha Stewart’s crust recipe. The recipe is perfect. Works wonderfully. (someone here needs to remember to poke it with a fork a few times, but I had other things on my mind today, OK?)

What Deb forgot to tell us is when you stew the leeks, you need to let the entire water evaporate. She says “almost”. I think that is what made my quiche in the end a bit watery. When I cut out a slice, it leaked out water. My mushrooms were cooked enough, it couldn’t have been from them. Also, 3 eggs is plenty for a quiche. The original Julia recipe says to use cream, but Deb says she uses milk and so would I. I even had a table spoon or two of crème fraîche. So it must’ve been the veggies… oh well… My intention was to freeze the rest, so maybe this way it won’t dry out in the freezer. Sadly, it just makes the crust soggy… ;(

Not to forget that Julia makes you work for your quiche. Either way, as Deb says, you discover new things every time and every time you wonder how she had it right. Mind you, I want to know who was Julia’s designated dishwasher? Poor Paul???

Ingredients for crust:

1 ¼ cups flour (175 gr)

heavier pinch of salt

lighter pinch of sugar

½ cup cold butter (115 gr)

2-3 tbsp ice water (30-45 ml)

Preparation for crust:

1. In a food processor mix the flour, salt, sugar and add butter and process until it resembles corn meal. (I did this with the food processor for the first minute, but then just threw it in a bowl and did it by hand. Best. The only reason all the recipes say “food processor” is because that way the butter want warm and start “melting” from your warm hands. But if you work quickly, believe me, it will be perfectly ok)

2. Add the water slowly, until the dough comes together (again you can do it in a food processor, but I one stands the chance of overworking the dough there and it needs to have the butter to stay colder to become a flaky pastry. Also, I have the feeling I can only make it come together by hand. Not only that, you can see when it’s done and when it needs more water or more flour) Go easy on the water, I needed only 2 spoons.

3. Form the dough in a ball, wrap it in a plastic foil and refrigerate for at least 1h.

4. Preheat the oven at 400F/205C and butter a quiche tart pan (I butter just in case)

5. Flour your work surface and roll out the dough to be larger than the diameter of your pan. It needs to overhang the pan when you flip it over. Using your fingers fit it in snuggly in the pan. Using the rolling pin, roll it over the rim to cut out the excess dough. If you have any cracks at the bottom of the crust, use some of the excess to fill it in. There’s plenty of butter in the dough, if you press a bit more, the little patch will blend in. (my tart pan is larger than the standard N. American 9 inch one (I don’t know how much mine is) so I needed to roll my dough thinner than you would (if using 9 inches) and I still had plenty of excess dough (ok maybe I shouldn’t have rolled it so thin haha but I was afraid it wouldn’t fit) DO NOT FORGET to poke the dough with a fork (the capitals are more for me than for you… :/ I was still shaken from my fall)

before baking

crust before baking and the leftover dough

6. Line the top of the dough with parchment paper and throw in the bake weights, the loose pennies, dried beans/legumes you have lying around to weigh down the dough and not let it rise. (I used 2 heavy baking dishes that fit over the quiche tart pan – no one could tell the difference!)

7. Bake it for 8-9 minutes. After, remove the parchment paper and weights, and continue baking for 3 more minutes. It needs to start colouring and shrink away from the mold. (It will)

• here Deb mentions something about unmolding it but in case we fear the dough cracking and leaking under the weight of the filling, to leave it in the tart pan. Otherwise, to let it breathe and therefore not get soggy. Is that why mine got soggy and watery? (I doubt it) Also, she then never says to return it to the tart pan and fill it and bake. Does she suggest baking the quiche with the filling unmolded, outside of the tart pan?? I’ve never seen that. I mean, if your crust is solid, it should be fine. I have never tried or read anywhere that anyone has. Might be worthwhile to try one day when there is not a crack in sight. (be careful though: my filling was up.to.the.brim of the crust so I placed a cookie sheet below the rack in case it bubbled over…)

Ingredients for filling:

3 medium leeks, white parts only, chopped

½ cup water (125 ml)

salt and pepper to taste

2 tablespoons butter (I never measure this, I just cut out a slice of the butter I deem necessary)

7-8 medium sized mushrooms, chopped (I think I had something close to 2 cups (2 large handfuls) of mushrooms sliced)

1 tbsp white wine (Julia’s says port, well too bad, Julia, I had none. I am pretty sure though she would approve)

3 eggs

1 ½ cups (375 ml) milk mixed in with 2 tbsp (30 ml) crème fraîche

1/8 tsp herbes de provence (just one knife tip)

grated cheese (I used a mix of whatever I had in the fridge: gouda/mimolette/mozzarella/grana padano – you can use any mix you like and as much as you like – depending on how much cheese you like on top of your quiche)

Preparation for filling:

1. Cook the sliced leeks with 1 tbsp of butter and ½ cup of water in a sauce pan and a bit of salt until the water has evaporated. Stew for 25-30 minutes more until they’re very soft. They will have a lot of water from themselves, so you will need to wait for it to all evaporate. Once done, put in a bowl and let them cool a bit (you don’t them to curdle your eggs)

2. Preheat the oven to 375F/190C and place a cookie sheet below the rack you’ll be using, just in case.

3. In a pan melt 1 tbsp butter, add the mushrooms, salt and wine. Stir once and cover with a lid and cook on medium for about 5-8 minutes. Uncover and maybe increase the heat to let the water evaporate. Once done add them to the leeks mixture to cool.

4. Beat the eggs, milk and pepper in a large mixing bowl (I added salt in the end, I wanted to see whether the leeks and mushrooms might salt the egg mix) Taste and add salt or pepper and the herbes de provence.

Assembly:

1. Pour over the prebaked pastry and sprinkle the grated cheese on top.

with and without the cheese on top

with and without the cheese on top

2. Gently place in the oven and bake for 30 minutes until it has browned and puffed up a bit.

per-fection!

per-fection!

Even if you do stand the chance of some water leaking out from the veggies, it still tastes great. I had a feeling it could’ve profited from some crumbled feta cheese inside or some goat cheese. I wanted to crack open my goat cheese and add some, I really did, but I was making Julia’s recipe and I already did not use port and added 1/8 tsp herbes de Provence, that I wanted to stay true to it (as much as I could) to see what it would be like.

*The herbes: Deb says “and add seasoning”. I am looking at the recipe, “What seasoning?!” There is none! Did she mean the salt and pepper? Maybe. But to me, tasting the filling it felt kind of…. naked… with no spices. I thought maybe thyme, but I didn’t want it to be overpowering, so I decided on the herbes de provence but I went very easy on it, cause they do have rosemary (again fear of overpowering) and I just wanted whatever I added to help the flavor come out. I was thinking of dash of nutmeg too would have been nice. But kind of either or, either herbs or nutmeg, not both.

I hope you try it, I hope you have better luck than me next time, and from then on, go ahead and customize!

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

